Eating Vegan – Frankie and Benny’s (UK)

Must Try Recipes

Frankie and Benny's has become one of the best chains for vegan options on their menu. Lots of classic American diner foods, inspired by Italian New York!

Check out all the options below:

New      Photo below      Warning      Info      Options

Last updated: 23 May 2021


  • Vegan Fry Up – Scrambled tofu, jackfruit sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, baked beans, hash browns, smashed avocado, and brown toast.
  • Scrambled Tofu and Toast – A vegan take on a breakfast classic. Add smashed avocado.
  • Sides:
    • Baked Beans
    • Herb Potatoes
    • Fries
    • Hash Browns
    • Vegan Jackfruit Sausage
    • Potato Scone  Scotland only.




  • Garlic Pizza Bread – Baked and loaded with garlic and herbs. Add Vegan mozzarella.
  • Arrabbiata Pasta – Roasted red pepper, red onion, green chillies and a spicy tomato and garlic sauce. Choose Spaghetti or Rigatoni pasta.
  • Mediterranean Salad – Couscous, bulgar wheat, black lentils, butternut squash, green beans, broccoli and spring onion with a vinaigrette dressing.
  • Vegan Choc-Chip Ice Cream



  • Garlic Pizza Bread
  • Garlic Pizza Bread with Vegan Mozzarella – With a vegan mozzarella alternative.
  • Plantballs Italiano – Flavoursome vegan balls made with oats, broad bean & pea protein, served in a spicy tomato sauce with vegan mozzarella alternative and rocket.
  • Bruschetta Napoli – Toasted ciabatta bread topped with tomato, red onion and fresh basil.
  • Vegan BBQ Wingz – Biffs crispy jackfruit wingz tumbled in BBQ sauce with a sugar cane ‘bone'. Served with vegan mayo.



Hero Subs

  • Plantball Hero Sub – Flavoursome vegan balls tumbled in a spicy Napoletana tomato sauce, heaped with melted vegan mozzarella and fresh basil.


  • Tower Beet Burger – Beet burger, slices of battered and lightly fried aubergine, Napoletana tomato sauce, vegan mozzarella, fresh basil and vegan mayo.  Add another patty or Vegan cheddar sauce.


  • Vegan Pepperoni Pizza – Vegan spicy and smoky pepperoni crumb, roasted red pepper, chilli, fresh basil and vegan mozzarella.


  • Arrabbiata – Roasted red peppers, red onion, green chillies, and olives in a spicy tomato and garlic sauce.  Choose from Rigatoni or Spaghetti pasta, and add vegan soy pieces to your sauce if you like.
  • Pepperoni Bake – Vegan pepperoni, Napoletana sauce, chilli, roasted red pepper and broccolini tumbled with rigatoni pasta and baked with vegan mozzarella.


  • Mediterranean Salad – Couscous, bulgar wheat, black lentils, butternut squash, broccolini, and spring onion with a vinaigrette dressing.



  • Fries Double check with the restaurant you are in to make sure they don't fry their fries with non-vegan products (like fish).
  • Sweet Potato Fries
  • Vegan Cheese Loaded Fries – Warm vegan cheese sauce with chilli flakes.
  • Garlic Pizza Bread
  • Garlic Pizza Bread with Vegan Mozzarella – With a vegan mozzarella alternative.
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Broccolini  



  • Hot Red Velvet Cookie Dough – Topped with honeycomb pieces and chocolate sauce. Served with vegan choc-chip ice cream.
  • Vegan Choc-Chip Ice Cream
  • Vegan Chocolate Chip Shake – Soya milkshake with vegan choc-chip ice cream and chocolate sauce.




  • Mini Garlic Bread
  • 3 Dough Balls – Served with a garlic dip.
  • Veggie Skewers – Cherry tomato, cucumber, and pepper.


  • Spaghetti with Tomato Sauce – Served with tomato sauce and mixed salad.
  • Vegan Pizza – Made with vegan mozzarella alternative.  Add Red Pepper and/or Mushroom.


  • Pip Organic Rainbow Lolly – Fruit lolly with cheeky hidden veg.
  • Fruit Skewers with Choco Dip – Fresh fruit pieces with chocolate dipping sauce
  • Mini Choc-Chip Sundae – Vegan choc-chip ice cream, fresh banana, and chocolate sauce.


[envira-gallery id=”2621″]


For more info, please check out Frankie and Benny's website.


First published: 27 Jan 2016
Last updated: 23 May 2021

- Advertisement -


  1. Thanks for sharing this info. I wouldnt have thought of going in a F and Bs because I wrongly assummed there would not be enough on the menu suitable for vegans.

  2. Thanks for the info! I’d assumed that you could ask for the garlic/paisley butter as a substitute for the Neapolitan sauce? Honestly me and tomato sauce never do well together (thanks to trying it when I was younger), so ideally for a pasta or pizza dish I would need something without tomatoes?

  3. We get creative when we eat out, most places are accommodating and a lot of the chefs like the challenge. We have problems with gluten free vegan though!!!
    Frankie and Bennies don’t do gf….or do they?

  4. Fries aren’t vegan I’m afraid, they are cooked in the same oil as fish etc… 🙁 hubby works there so I know this.

    • 2nd mistake by thehecticvegan in this post suggested getting garlic butter twice, lost all faith and trust in this post.

      • The fries are confirmed to be vegan, this sounds like an individual restaurant not complying with the company policies on the kitchen – I would suggest people check with the restaurant they are in to make sure.

      • I withdraw my comment re garlic butter, it is oil based as Rich says Prob confirm that individual restaurants cook fries differently, my local fry in the same oil as fish We didn’t have fries

    • Hi Martin, I can confirm that the garlic butter is vegan, it is made with an oil base rather than butter (despite the misleading name – I guess they didn’t want to ‘put off’ non-vegans?)

      • Thank you for replying I went there today with my daughter and they confirmed what you are saying so I stand corrected I wasn’t too impressed, tbh, and prob won’t go back but it’s good to know what we can eat there should we ever return.

        • Hi Martin, that’s good to hear. I have found Frankie and Benny’s one of the hardest places to eat at so don’t often go there – there are usually more vegan-friendly places around them to pick from! But I heard today that they are planning a whole vegan menu, so they have clearly seen veganism is on the rise! 🙂

  5. I went there today and ordered the Penne Arrabiata. Just looked online out of curiosity and their allergen list says this dish contains milk products… why?! 🙁 I’m hoping your friend’s info is right. Or maybe they’ve changed some ingredients since then? Or maybe their website is just glitchy as fuck

  6. I just rang to ask F&B (cardiff) what they had on the menu for vegans………and they apologised that they do not cater for vegans. No offer at all to make things up. So I personally wont be trying them!

  7. Went into F&B at the beginning of July and they had a vegan ice cream on the menu!! So pleased to see a big chain finally having a dessert thats not sorbet or fruit salad!!! The ice cream was made from coconut milk and is vanilla flavour. Very happy about this menu change


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

More Like This

- Advertisement -