Eating Vegan – Papa John’s Pizza (UK)

Must Try Recipes

So you need that pizza fix? Or you're with your mates ordering pizza and don't want to miss out ūüôā Check out my guide for the vegan options on the menu for the UK Papa John's. If you're ordering, and people are deciding which pizza chain to go for, make sure you swerve them to Papa John's or Pizza Hut (see my vegan guide to Pizza Hut) (don't even think about Domino's!)


Check out the items below that are suitable for vegans:

New     Photo below     Warning     Info     Options
Last updated: 11 Jan 2020

Order your vegan Papa John's now!


  • Vegan American Hot¬† – Vegan¬†Sheese, jackfruit ‘pepperoni', jalapenos, and pizza sauce.
  • Vegan Jackfruit ‘Pepperoni'¬† – Vegan¬†Sheese, jackfruit ‘pepperoni', and pizza sauce.
  • Vegan Sausage and ‘Pepperoni'¬† – Vegan¬†Sheese, vegan sausage, jackfruit ‘pepperoni', and pizza sauce.
  • The Vegan Works¬† – Vegan¬†Sheese, vegan sausage, jackfruit ‘pepperoni', baby portabello mushrooms, green peppers, onions, black olives, and pizza sauce.
  • The Vegan Hot Dog – A Heinz Tomato Ketchup base loaded with vegan hot dog sausage, great-tasting Sheese, freshly sliced onions and topped with Heinz American style mustard.
  • Vegan Sheese & Tomato –¬†Vegan Sheese and tomato.
  • Vegan Garden Party –¬†Vegan Sheese, red onions, green peppers, tomatoes, sweetcorn, and baby Portobello mushrooms.
  • Vegan Hot Pepper Passion –¬†Vegan Sheese, red peppers, green peppers, green chilli peppers, jalapeno peppers and onions.
  • Create your own – pick the Original, Thin, or Butternut Squash¬† base, and don't forget to remove the dairy cheese as it's automatically added and add the Vegan Sheese¬†if you want it, then add any of the following:¬†Black Olives, Green Chilli Peppers, Green Peppers, Jackfruit ‘Pepperoni',¬†Jalapeno Peppers, Mushrooms,¬†Onions,¬†Pineapple,¬†Red Onion, Red Peppers,¬†Sweetcorn,¬†Tomatoes, Vegan Sausage,¬†Mustard, Phal Curry Sauce, and Pizza Sauce.



  • Potato Tots¬† – Oven baked potato tots. The potato ingredient does not contain milk, but is manufactured in a factory that handles milk products.¬†Pick a dip (see below).
  • Potato Tots with Sheese¬† – Oven baked potato tots topped with vegan Sheese. The potato ingredient does not contain milk, but is manufactured in a factory that handles milk products. Pick a dip (see below).
  • Potato Tots with Sheese and Jalapenos¬† – Oven baked potato tots topped with vegan Sheese and Jalapenos. The potato ingredient does not contain milk, but is manufactured in a factory that handles milk products. Pick a dip (see below).
  • Vegan Sheese and Marmite Scrolls –¬†Eight freshly rolled and baked dough scrolls with Marmite and Vegan Sheese.
  • Cauli Wings – Crispy coated cauliflower with a hot buffalo sauce dip.



  • Barbeque
  • Hot Buffalo
  • Pizza Sauce
  • Special GarlicNot Garlic and Herb, that has egg in it.
  • Sweet Chilli



  • Coconutterly Caramel'd Ben & Jerry's – Coconut flavoured ice cream with caramel & cookie swirls and chocolatey pieces. Non-dairy and Vegan.
  • Cinnamon Scrolls – Fresh dough rolled with sweet cinnamon and drizzled with icing.


Frozen Drinks

  • Tango Ice Blast Cherry Sorbet
  • Tango Ice Blast Blue Raspberry Sorbet
  • Pepsi Freeze
  • 7up Freeze


Order your vegan Papa John's now!

[envira-gallery id=”1769″]


Here's my old non-cheese vegan pizza that Papa John's shared on their Instagram feed a few years ago before they introduced officially vegan pizzas:

For more info, please check the Papa John's website

If you have any updates or comments about this, please add them below, we want this to be as updated as possible so any tips you have will be greatly appreciated!


First Written: 18 Apr 2016
Last updated: 11 Jan 2020


- Advertisement -


  1. Can you tell me how you know the garlic sauce is vegan? All vegans seem to be mad for it but on their allergen info (PDF download) it clearly states that it’s not vegan and contains egg. So I’m confused…

    • Their Garlic & Herb dip is the one that contains egg. They state their Special Garlic dip isn’t vegan but it is, just with an allergen warning in case of cross contamination.

    • I know, I wish they did ūüôĀ The first pizza take out to do it will sell so many pizzas, not just to vegans, but all the lactose intolerant people too! We can keep asking, and soon they might listen?

  2. I had to have a refund because they told the wrong dough to my mum and they told me that they add milk to all dough just to let you all know

        • Hi Sophie, you had me worried there, but I have checked and the dough for the normal bases is still vegan, and you just have to build your own pizza. The link that Ian and I have linked to has the ‘built’ pizzas at the top, and because they all have cheese on by default, this is why it says they have milk in them. If you go towards the bottom there is an ingredients list, which shows which ingredients are vegan, which includes the dough, and all the veggies to put on top ūüôā

  3. Unfortunately they no longer do cinnamon knots, they now do cinnamon pull aparts which are not vegan ūüôĀ

    pizzas are still nice though ūüôā
    Thanks for this little guide, its very helpful!
    Maybe consider doing one for ordering Pizza Hut?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

More Like This

- Advertisement -