Eating Vegan – McDonald’s UK

  Posted on   by   15 comments

mcdonalds

If you need a quick food fix, and are in town (cos let's face it, almost every town has one) you can head to McDonald's!

Check out the items below that are suitable for vegans:

Breakfast

  • Hash Brown
  • Pineapple Stick
  • Carrot Sticks
  • Fruit Bag
  • Melon Bag

Sandwiches (Burgers)

  • Spicy Vegetable Deluxe – order this without the mayo as it contains egg.
  • Vegetable Deluxe – order this without the mayo as it contains egg.

Sides/Extras

  • French Fries – “Our French Fries do not contain any animal extracts and are cooked in 100% vegetable oil which is non-hydrogenated.”
  • Carrot Sticks

Desserts

  • Fruit Bag

Sauces

  • Heinz Tomato Ketchup
  • Spicy Tomato Salsa
  • Sweet Chilli Sauce/Dip
  • BBQ Dip – don't get this confused with Smokey BBQ Dip, which contains honey.
  • Sweet & Sour Dip
  • Sweet Curry Dip

Some McDonald's myths busted:

  • “The Veggie patty is cooked in a dedicated fryer used only for this product and fries. Chicken and fish are cooked in completely separate fryers and beef and pork is not cooked in fryers.”
  • “We use dedicated colour-coded tongs and trays for Veggie products and the procedures used to make the Spicy Veggie Wrap [Spicy Vegetable Deluxe] and Spicy Veggie Sandwich [Vegetable Deluxe] are approved by the Vegetarian Society.”

Please note: this is for UK McDonald's only! Around the world ingredients change, and some products have meat as flavouring – e.g. fries and hash browns!

For more info, please check the McDonald's website

If you have any updates or comments about this, please add them below, we want this to be as updated as possible so any tips you have will be greatly appreciated!

Last updated: 10 Jun 2018

First published: 08 Dec 2015


Author: Rich

15 comments

  1. Christopher J says:

    When did they add these options? I admittedly haven’t been to Mc’Ds for a very long time (way before being vegan).

    I’m sure these are new? I also was pretty sure the fries contained dairy (or at least used too?)

    • Bethany says:

      Hi! I work at McDonalds and can 100% confirm they are 100% potato and cooked in vegetable oil – in the Uk at least ;D

  2. Sarah says:

    Um the hashbrowns are definitely NOT vegan. The “natural flavoring” is beef!

    • Rich says:

      Hi Sarah, the UK ones are confirmed to be vegan, but around the world, these might contain beef – like the fries! 😮

  3. Mike Maybury says:

    The Vegetarian Society has, over several years, worked hard in the interest of vegetarians, and, eventually, managed to get their standards adhered to in Mc. Donald’s.
    Has the Vegan Society attempted to do the same for the smaller number of vegans?
    A salad, of the type they provide, without Mayo is pretty uninteresting. Perhaps one needs to carry around sachets of vegan mayo when travelling.
    I do hope that all vegans and vegetarians join and support their respective societies, so that they may continue to do all this work on our behalf.
    I’d be far happier is vegans and vegetarians used their cooking skills to run their own cafes in their own localities. To start with they might surely invite people to their homes to test out recipes and spread the word and estimate demand.
    Should we continue to rely on totally commercial caterers to provide our needs, because they really have no clue as to the real requirements of a balanced vegan diet. Selecting only vegan products at most of these places, leads to tasteless and unbalanced meals.

  4. BeccaLaBee says:

    This is a great post – thank you so much!

  5. Amy says:

    the bagel for the breakfast is also vegan, as long as you order it without the cream cheese or butter on the side!

    • Mike Maybury says:

      I’ve been in touch with Mc. Donald’s for some time, to persuade them to offer wholemeal rolls as well as the deficient white ones they have offered for years.
      Apparently they are now discussing this. I will wait patiently. Perhaps others could contact them to aid the process.
      I have NEVER eaten in Mc. Donalds, but did distribute 120 leaflets, when they introduced salads a few years ago, thinking that residents in my block of flats might benefit as some were probably customers.

  6. Sal says:

    I believe the apple pies are accidentally vegan too

  7. Bethany says:

    Also :

    Breakfast ;
    Bagels
    Potato Rosties (They are usually found in a breakfast wrap, but you can order a breakfast wrap only a sauce and two rosties which is what I usually get!)
    Muffins – plain of course, good if you want to make a Hash Brown sandwhich
    Tortilla – Available in the breakfast wrap as listed above.

    Blended Ice Drinks :
    Mango and Pineapple Smoothie
    Strawberry and Banana Smoothie
    Berry Burst Smoothie (All of these must be ordered with no Yoghurt)
    Strawberry Lemonade

    • Sher says:

      I suggest checking the update comments on the McDs Veggie burgers whilst they contradict and say vegetarian they at the bottom say whilst cooked in different oils and fryers there MAY contain cross contamination from fish and chicken oils due filtering process so they cannot guarantee that this will not occur ..so please add that to your blog as an update. I checked uk site in the last few hours. Thanks

  8. Joanne says:

    Just wondering why a vegan would want to fund McDonalds who slaughter millions of animals a year? Surely better to fund more ethical companies where possible?

  9. Zahra says:

    The apple pie is vegan too 🙂

  10. Linda Aspey says:

    These foods might be vegan but I wouldn’t want to eat anything from a restaurant that specialises in burgers. There are bound to be many opportunities for meat contamination – storage, cooking, human error. I know some of it can’t be avoided and most restaurants don’t use different pans and cooking dishes for vegan foods but in a fast food place with lots of different staff doing shifts I just wouldn’t trust it.

Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *